Faculty Committees 2019-2020

Policy Committee

Elected from among the St. George Campus faculty, with participation of the Chair of Historical Studies at UTM and the Chair of Historical and Cultural Studies at UTSC. Advises the chair(s) on policy-related matters concerning the St. George Department including such things as: working groups, opportunities and initiatives, appointments, retention, strategic complement planning and reviews, curricula, etc.

  • Alison Smith (Committee Chair)
  • Mark Meyerson (ex officio)
  • Nhung Tran (ex officio)
  • Rebecca Wittman (ex officio, UTM)
  • Natalie Rothman (ex officio, UTSC)
  • Tim Sayle (elected 2018)
  • Lori Loeb (elected 2018)
  • Tamara Walker (elected 2018)
  • Heidi Bohaker (elected 2019)

St. George Campus Committees

Reviews annual activity reports and advises on those faculty who are ready for promotion. Assists in the evaluation and preparation of the promotion dossier.


  • Alison Smith (Committee Chair)
  • Ken Bartlett/Jim Retallack (first term)
  • Jennifer Mori/Bob Bothwell (second term)
  • Eric Jennings
  • Nick Everett


  • Jim Retallack (first half)
  • Nick Terpstra
  • Lynne Viola (chair)
  • Dimitry Anastakis

Reviews annual activity reports to advise the chair in determining performance of faculty for annual PTR.

  • Alison Smith (Committee Chair)
  • Mark Meyerson (ex officio)
  • Nhung Tran (ex officio)
  • Jennifer Jenkins
  • Piotr Wrobel
  • Laurie Bertram

Plans and coordinates undergraduate course offerings for departmental approval; discusses ongoing curriculum renewal and proposes changes for departmental consideration; discusses other undergraduate issues as necessary.

  • Nhung Tran (Chair)
  • Vicki Norton (ex officio)
  • Doris Bergen
  • Laurie Betram
  • Anver Emon
  • Sean Hawkins
  • Yvon Wang
  • Jennifer Jenkins
  • Paul Cohen
  • Cindy Ewing
  • Sean Hawkins
  • Steve Penfold
  • Alison Smith (Chair)
  • Sean Mills
  • Max Mishler
  • Shauna Sweeney
  • Melanie Newton

Tri-Campus Committees

    The mandate of the Equity and Diversity Committee is to provide recommendations and direction to the Tri-Campus Graduate History Department and the undergraduate St. George History Department on questions of equity and diversity with a particular focus on addressing racism, sexism, homophobia, transphobia, ableism, and structural inequities, as well as policies and practices that affect Indigenous, Black, People of Color, and LGBTQ2S members of these departments.

    • Heidi Bohaker
    • Elspeth Brown
    • Shami Ghosh
    • Julie MacArthur
    • Michelle Murphy
    • Nakanyike Musisi
    • Jo Sharma
    • Tamara Walker

    Seeks to promote activities (lectures, conferences, workshops, etc) which promote collaboration among faculty members and advance and celebrate the intellectual life of the department.


    • Tamara Walker (Chair)
    • Anver Emon
    • Brian Jacobson
    • Rebecca Woods
    • Malavika Kasturi
    • William Nelson


    Chaired by a tenured faculty member, works closely with Associate Chair Graduate and Graduate Administrators to review graduate applications and determine offers of admission; liaises with prospective faculty advisors about responding to pre-application inquiries, messages of interest and campus visits, and assists the Associate Chair Graduate, in the recruitment of admitted students.


    • Mark Meyerson (ex officio)
    • Tak Fujitani (Chair, PhD Admissions)
    • Sean Mills (Chair, MA Admissions)
    • Paul Cohen
    • Andres Kasekamp
    • Nakanyike Musisi
    • Paula Hastings
    • Tong Lam


    Plans and coordinates graduate course offerings for departmental approval; discusses ongoing curriculum renewal and proposes changes for departmental consideration; discusses other graduate issues as necessary.


    • Mark Meyerson (Chair)
    • Ritu Birla
    • Michelle Murphy
    • Anup Grewal
    • Brian Gettler
    • Vivian Hwang


    • Lori Loeb (Chair)
    • Ron Pruessen
    • David Wilson
    • Natalie Rothman
    • Giulio Silano (Alternate)

    Advises the Associate Chair, Graduate in the awarding of internal fellowships; reviews graduate students’ applications and proposals assisting in the preparation of cover letters, CVs and dossiers for external fellowships.


    • Mark Meyerson (ex officio)
    • Mohamad Tavakoli-Targhi
    • Lucho van Isschot
    • Jens Hanssen
    • Adrienne Hood (fall)
    • Franca Iacovetta (winter)


    Assists and advises graduate students at all levels of their study to prepare for the job market including: workshops on the preparation of CVs, cover letters and teaching dossiers; individual consultations regarding job applications; mock interviews; support for AHA interviews in advance of and at the meeting; and preparation for campus visits.


    • Julie MacArthur (Chair)
    • Mark Meyerson (ex officio)
    • Shami Ghosh
    • Max Mishler
    • Cindy Ewing