The entrance to the Department of History’s office in Sidney Smith Hall

The History Students’ Association (HSA) aims to bring together undergraduate students and professors with a common interest in history by hosting a number of social and intellectual events throughout the year. Every student who takes at least one-half course in the Department of History is a member of the student association.

The association contributes to the Department of History's intellectual community by:

The HSA gives undergraduate students a voice in curriculum and policy-making by representing them at meetings of the Department of History and our Undergraduate Program Committee. 

Get Involved

Journal: The Future of History

The History Students’ Association bi-annually publishes a journal of undergraduate essays entitled The Future of History, featuring high-quality papers from students written throughout the year for their courses. We also accept submissions from a variety of other disciplines.

Submission Guidelines

  • You can submit a maximum of two essays for consideration.
  • Please include in your submission email your permanent contact information (email, phone number) so the committee can contact you should your essay/critique be chosen.
  • For complete submission guidelines, please visit the HSA website.

All essays must be emailed to with the subject "Essay Submission [year]."

HSA Executive, 2017-2018

Co-Presidents: Graham Coulter and Alif Shahed

Vice President Academic: Ana Gonzalez

Vice President Mentorship: Alice Liu

Vice President Social: Yemaya Adofo

Journal Directors: Allen Wang and Duncan Morrison

Conference Directors: Rida Fatima and Milen Melles

Logistics Coordinator: Marianna Kalaczyńska

Communications Director: Michaela Vukas

Treasurer: Graydon Kelch