Department of History

HOMESGS HOMEARTS & SCIENCE HOMEUOFT HOME SEARCHSITE MAP

Undergraduate
Graduate
Degree Programs
Applicant Information
Funding
Graduate Faculty
Courses
New Students
Graduate History Society
Graduate Student Profiles
Graduate Student Conferences
Dissertations
Graduate Placement Committee
Useful Links
Faculty
Prizes, Awards & Scholarships
Events
Library Resources
Employment Opportunities
Committees
Conctact Us

Graduate
Graduate Students

A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z

Name, Contact
Degree
Supervisor Field
Alfonso, Rowena I.
Hons. B.A., M.A. (Toronto)
rowena.alfonso@utoronto.ca
Ph.D. Halpern USA 1877-present; African-American History; Caribbean History
Allen, Douglas
d.allen@utoronto.ca
Ph.D. Meyerson Europe 1400-1600
Anderson, Julie
B.A. New York Univ., M.A. Toronto
jm.anderson@utoronto.ca
Ph.D. Everett Early Medieval
Barbour, Dale
dale.barbour@utoronto.ca
Ph.D. Penfold Canadian
Barton, Deborah
deborah.barton@utoronto.ca
Ph.D. Bergen Modern Europe
Benson-Sokmen, Susan
Univ. of Toronto M.A. (Collaborative Program Near and Middle Eastern Civilizations and Women and Gender Studies)
Univ. of Toronto B.A. (Near and Middle Eastern Civilizations)
s.benson.sokmen@utoronto.ca
Ph.D. Hanssen/Mojab Modern Middle East/Colonialism/Gender
Boyle, Sean
B.A., Rutgers summa cum laude
M.A., Rutgers-Newark
sp.boyle@mail.utoronto.ca
Ph.D. Bender US Post-1877; Labour; Capitalism
Bryer, Elizabeth R.
B.A. Honours History Univ. of British Columbia; M.A. Univ. of Toronto
elizabeth.bryer@utoronto.ca
Ph.D. Brown American
Campeau, Marilyn
B.A. (History and Linguistics) and M.A. (History), Université du Québec à Montréal
marilyn.campeau@mail.utoronto.ca
Ph.D. Viola Russian History; 20th Century European History; War and Society in the Modern World
Cantor, Anthony
acantor@fulbrightmail.org
Ph.D. Retallack European
Cardon, Nathan
M.A., History (2006); H.B.A. w. Dis, History (2005), Univ. of Toronto
nathan.cardon@utoronto.ca
Ph.D. Halpern United States; African American; Cultural
Carpenter, Sandy
Univ. of California Los Angeles, M.A. San Diego State Univ.
sandy.carpenter@utoronto.ca
Ph.D. Cochelin Medieval, Southern France
Carter-Chand, Rebecca
BA Honours (Crandall Univ.), MA (Queen’s Univ.)
r.carter.chand@utoronto.ca
Ph.D. Bergen 20th Century Europe; Modern Germany; Modern Africa
Cavanaugh, Stephanie
B.A. (honours) UNB, M.A. Toronto
stephanie.cavanaugh@mail.utoronto.ca
Ph.D. Meyerson Early Modern Europe, 1400-1600; Colonial Latin America; Indigenous Histories in North America
Charney, William
B.Sc.E.E. (Kettering) and B.A. (McMaster)
bill.charney@mail.utoronto.ca
M.A. Pruessen US Foreign Relations, Southeast Asia
Chung, Chris
M.A.; B.A. University of Calgary
cpc.chung@mail.utoronto.ca
Ph.D. Chen China, 1796-Present
Church-Duplessis, Véronique
M.A., Université de Montréal
veronique.church.duplessis@utoronto.ca
Ph.D. Mori Europe 1600-1800, Europe 19th c., Gender
Colbourn, Susan
B.A. (Hons.) Trinity College, University of Toronto; M.A. London School of Economics and Political Science
susie.colbourn@mail.utoronto.ca
Ph.D. Bothwell Modern International Relations, United States Foreign Policy, Soviet Union
Corazza, Stephanie
stephanie.corazza@utoronto.ca
Ph.D. Bergen Modern Europe
Cormier, Caroline
M.A., University of Toronto (Geography); B.A. Honours, Queen’s University (Global Development Studies and Political Studies)
caroline.cormier@mail.utoronto.ca
Ph.D. Wittmann 20th Century European History, Holocaust and Genocide Studies, Gender and International Relations
Cousins, Karen
Master of Arts in History, Univ. of North Florida
Bachelor of Arts in History, summa cum laude, Univ. of North Florida
karen.cousins@utoronto.ca
Ph.D. Mills, K

Colonial Spanish America/Early Modern Iberia; Global Christianities; Early Modern Empires

Dahlke, Courtney
B.A. Stanford University
courtney.dahlke@utoronto.ca
Ph.D. Murray Medieval
deSouza, Sanchia Ph.D. Sharma Colonialism/Cultural History/Modern South Asia
Dhar, Prasanta
Honours B.A. (Univ. of Toronto); B.A. (Calcutta Univ.)
p.dhar@utoronto.ca
Ph.D. Birla Major: Modern South Asia; Minor 1: media & public sphere; Minor 2: global Asia
Drake, Laurie
B.A. (Honours), McGill University; M.A., University of Toronto
Ph.D. Jennings 20th Century Europe, Holocaust, War and Society
Dufour, Marc-André
B.A. History/German and M.A. History at UQAM (Montréal)
Ph.D. Retallack Germany
Dutka, Caroline
B.A. Honours - McGill
M.A. Wilson Modern Irish History, Memory Politics
Edwards, Bret
B.A. (Hons) Toronto, M.A. Ottawa
bret.edwards@utoronto.ca
Ph.D. Penfold

Canada, Modern United States, Cultural History

Espillat-Lizardo, Monica
Honours B.A. (University of Toronto)
monica.espillatlizardo@mail.utoronto.ca
Ph.D. Newton Colonialisms/Caribbean/Gender
Evans, Jennifer
B.A. (Honours), BEd, M.A. Nipissing Univ.
j.evans@utoronto.ca
Ph.D. Iacovetta Major: Canada
Minors: USA, 1877-present, Immigration and Ethnicity
Farooqi, Abdullah
abdullah.farooqi@mail.utoronto.ca
Ph.D. Meyerson Early Modern Mediterranean, 1400-1700 (major); Late Medieval Europe, 1000-1400 (minor); Islamic History, 1000-1500 (minor)
Francescutti, Kristina
B.A. – Univ. of Toronto; M.A. – Univ. of Toronto
kristina.francescutti@mail.utoronto.ca
Ph.D. Bartlett Europe 1400-1600; Europe 1600-1800, Material Culture
Fuks, Konstantin
B.A. (Honours) York University, M.A. University of Turku
konstantin.fuks@mail.utoronto.ca
Ph.D. Bergen/Viola Modern Europe, War and Society in the Modern World; Nationalism
Ghosh, Anwesha Ph.D. Birla South Asia
Graham, Allison
B.A. (Hons) University of Alberta; M.A., University of Toronto
Ph.D. Mills, K

Major field: Colonial Latin America and Early Modern Spain
Minor fields: Gender in the Americas, Early Modern Europe

Harris, Dustin
B.A. Honours History (Univ. of British Columbia), M.A. (Simon Fraser Univ.)
dustin.harris@mail.utoronto.ca
Ph.D. Jennings Twentieth Century Europe, Urban History and Colonialisms
Hayter, Jennifer
B.A. History, Univ. of Alberta
M.A. (Collaborative) History and International Relations
jennifer.hayter@utoronto.ca
Ph.D. Bohaker Canada
Heller, Kaitlin
A.B. Folklore and Mythology, Harvard University M.Phil. Medieval History, Cambridge University
kaitlin.heller@utoronto.ca
Ph.D. Goering Medieval, 1050-1494, Europe 1400-1600, History of Science and Technology
Huras, Amy
amy.huras@utoronto.ca

Mills, K Latin American
Hushion, Stacy
M.A., Univ. of Toronto (History)
B.A. Honours, York Univ. (History and Psychology)
stacy.hushion@utoronto.ca
Ph.D. Bergen Twentieth-Century Europe; Twentieth-Century Germany; Gender, War and Nationalism
Huynh, Duc
M.A. in East Asian Cultures and Languages at the Univ. of Texas (Austin); B.S. in Environmental Biology and Asian Studies
duc.huynh@utoronto.ca
Ph.D. Tran Southeast Asian History; Modern Japanese History; Colonialism
James, Kirsten
B.A. Hons (Vind), MPhil (Cantab)
kirsten.james@utoronto.ca
Ph.D. Mori Eighteenth century England and France
Jewett, Elizabeth
B.A. (Honours) McGill, M.A. McGill
elizabeth.jewett@utoronto.ca
Ph.D. MacDowell Canadian History, Environmental History, and US Cultural History
Kelly, Brendan
brendan.kelly@utoronto.ca
Ph.D. Bothwell Canadian International Relations
Kennedy, Stefanie
B.A. (hons.) English and History, Trent Univ.; M.A. History, Univ. of Guelph
stefanie.kennedy@utoronto.ca
Ph.D. Newton Atlantic World
Kuru, Mehmet
B.A. Galatasaray Univ.; M.A. Sabanci University
mehmet.kuru@utoronto.ca
Ph.D. Rothman Early Modern Mediterranean
Landsee, Benjamin
M.A., B.A.
benjamin.landsee@utoronto.ca
Ph.D. Newton Colonialisms, Modern Latin America, Sub-Saharan Africa
Levin Bonder, Jennifer
M.A. Public History (Univ. of Western Ontario)
Honours B.A. History (Laurentian Univ.)
jennifer.bonder@utoronto.ca
Ph.D. Bothwell Canada; U.S. Foreign Policy & International Relations
Lintott, Brett
B.A., M.A. McMaster
brett.lintott@utoronto.ca
Ph.D. Smyth Major: International Relations 19th-20th Centuries
Minor: 20th Century United States Foreign Policy, Britain 1800-Present
Logue, Alexandra
B.A. (Hons), Univ. of Toronto
M.A., Univ. of Guelph
a.logue@utoronto.ca
Ph.D. Mori Major: Early Modern Britain (Mori);
Minor: Early Modern Europe (Terpstra),
Minor: Gender (Rubright)
Luciuk, Kassandra
B.A. (Honours), M.A. Queen’s University
kassandra.luciuk@mail.utoronto.ca
Ph.D. Radforth Canadian History, Ethnicity and Immigration, Nationalism
Lynn, Shane
shane.lynn@mail.utoronto.ca
Ph.D. Wilson Irish diaspora, nationalism and empire, c. 1815-1923
Main, Kimberly
B.A. Thompson Rivers University; M.A. University of Calgary
Ph.D. Noel
Majstorovic, Vojin
vojin.majstorovic@utoronto.ca
Ph.D. Viola Russian
Marian, Meaghan
meaghan.marian@utoronto.ca
Ph.D. Lam Modern China
Matzen, Christina
chrissy.matzen@mail.utoronto.ca
Ph.D. Bergen Modern Germany
McCarthy, Vanessa
B.A. (Hons) Toronto, M.A. Guelph
vanessa.mccarthy@utoronto.ca
Ph.D. Terpstra Early Modern Europe, Sex and Gender in the Western World, Medieval Europe
McQuarrie, Jonathan
B.A, (Thompson Rivers Univ.), M.A. (UT)
j.mcquarrie@utoronto.ca
Ph.D. Penfold 20th century Canada
McVicker, Ben
B.A. (Hons) Dalhousie Univ., M.A. (Univ. of Toronto)
ben.mcvicker@utoronto.ca
Ph.D. Viola Soviet and Post-Soviet Russia
Mersereau, Peters
B.A., M.A. Dalhousie
Ph.D. Jenkins Modern Europe/Modern Germany
Mina, Noula
n.mina@utoronto.ca
Ph.D. Iacovetta Canadian and Immigration history
Mitter, Adrian
M.A., University of Leipzig
adrian.mitter@mail.utoronto.ca
Ph.D. Wróbel Modern History of Central, East Central and Southeast Europe
Mlynarz, Michal
M.A. History, University of Alberta, 2007; B.A. (Honors) Anthropology, University of Alberta, 2004
Ph.D. Wróbel East Central Europe late 18th century to present; 20th century Europe; Material Culture
Molinaro, Dennis
B.A., (Trent) M.A. (Queen's), PhD in progress
dennis.molinaro@utoronto.ca
Ph.D. Radforth Canadian history, Comparative Migration (Canada/U.S.), Intelligence and International Relations
Murdoch, Chandra
M.A., York University (Socio-Legal Studies), B.A. (Honours), Concordia University
chandra.murdoch@mail.utoronto.ca
Ph.D. Bohaker Canada, Colonialisms
Nash, Shannon
B.A., (Honours) Univ. of Waterloo,
M.A. Univ. of Waterloo
shannon.nash@utoronto.ca
Ph.D. Wark American, International Relations, and Terrorism
Newmark, Michael
B.A. (Honors), Univ. of Rochester (2005)
michael.newmark@mail.utoronto.ca
Ph.D.

Wróbel

Polish and Central European History, 1700-1935
Owen, Abigail
abigail.owen@utoronto.ca
Ph.D. Murray Early Medieval
Park, Tina J.
Honours B.A. in international relations, Trinity College, Univ. of Toronto
park.tina@gmail.com or tina.park@utoronto.ca
Ph.D. Bothwell International Relations
Plunkett-Latimer, Abraham Ph.D. Cochelin Medieval
Pomiecko, Aleksandra
B.A. (Honors) University of Pittsburgh; M.A. Uniwersytet Jagielloński
aleks.pomiecko@mail.utoronto.ca
Ph.D. Wróbel East Europe; 20th Century Russia; War and Society
Postelnyak, Anna
B.A. Honours with High Distinction, UofT anna.postelnyak@mail.utoronto.ca
M.A.

Pottruff, Benjamin
B.A., M.A. (Waterloo)
benjamin.pottruff@utoronto.ca
Ph.D. Halpern American History from 1877 to present, Immigration and Ethnicity, Labour History
Pourtavaf, Leila
leila.pourtavaf@utoronto.ca
Ph.D. Tavakoli-Targhi Modern Iran
Rady-Shaw, Julia
julia.rady@utoronto.ca
Ph.D. McGowan 20th century Canadian religion
Rahal, Nisrine
B.A. (Hons), M.A., University of Toronto
nisrine.rahal@mail.utoronto.ca
Ph.D. Jenkins 19th and 20th century Europe; Modern Germany; Gender and Sexuality 
Riddell, Will
B.A., (Hons) M.A., Toronto
w.riddell@utoronto.ca
Ph.D. Halpern/Bender United States; African American; Immigration; Latin American
Roellinghoff, Michael
M.A. (Toronto); B.A. (Hons.) (McMaster)
Ph.D. Fujitani Colonialisms, Modern Japanese History; Modern Chinese History
Rose, Colin
M.A. (Dalhousie, 2010), B.A. (Hons.) (Toronto 0T8)
colin.rose@utoronto.ca
Ph.D. Terpstra Early Modern Europe
Samson-Paquet, Roxane
B.A. and M.A. History, Université du Québec à Montréal
Ph.D. Viola

Modern Russian History; 20th Century European History; Historiography

Saujani, Sheyfali
sheyfali.saujani@utoronto.ca

Radforth South Asian migration. Canadian immigration and multiculturalism
Savage, Michael
B.A. and M.A. University of Calgary
michael.savage@mail.utoronto.ca
Ph.D. Kazal United States; African-American History; Modern Latin America
Segesser, Kathryn
B.A. Hons (Trinity College, Dublin), Msc. (Oxford Univ.)
kathryn.segesser@utoronto.ca
Ph.D. Shorter Eighteenth centruy Britain; History of Medcine; Canada
Shwartz, Louis D.
B.A. Vanderbilt Univ.; M.A. Western Michigan Univ.
louis.shwartz@utoronto.ca
Ph.D. Goering High Middle Ages
Sidders, Lindsay C.
M.A. and B.A. University of Alberta
lindsay.sidders@utoronto.ca
Ph.D. Mills, K Colonial Latin America; Cultural History; Early Modern Europe
Silano, Francesca
francesca.silano@utoronto.ca
Ph.D. Viola Russian
Smith, Laura
B.A. Waterloo, M.A. Queen's
lj.smith@utoronto.ca
Ph.D. McGowan Canadian
Smith, Zachary
B.A. (Honours) York, M.A. York
zachary.smith@utoronto.ca
Ph.D. Bohaker Canada; Colonial Encounters in the Americas; Colonialisms
Sproule, Joseph T.C.
M.A. in History (Univ. of Toronto), M.A. in Archaeology (Leiden Univ.), MSc in Human Palaeoecology (Univ. College London), B.A. in Archaeology (Univ. of Toronto)
Ph.D. Kivimae Early Modern Europe/Baltic
Szymanska-Smolkin, Sylwia
M.A. Warsaw Univesity
sylwia.szymanska@utoronto.ca
Ph.D. Wróbel East European/Holocaust
Toffoli, Erica
M.A., University of Toronto (2012), B.A. (Honours) (2011)
erica.toffoli@mail.utoronto.ca
Ph.D. Kazal

USA, 1877-Present (Major), 20th-Century U.S. Foreign Policy (Minor), Latin America, 1810-Present (Minor)

Topouzova, Lilia
M.A. (with Distinction) Toronto
lilia.topouzova@utoronto.ca
Ph.D. Viola/Lahusen Europe, 20th Century, Holocaust History, East Central Europe
Tošaj, Nicholas
B.A.  Hon. Concordia University (Transnational Revolutionary Networks), M.A. Concordia University (French Culinary Imperialism, Transnational Networks)
nicholas.tosaj@mail.utoronto.ca
Ph.D.
Food, Modern Europe, Empire
Tracy, Sarah
Bachelor of Business Administration (BBA) & Bachelor of Arts (Honours History), Univ. of New Brunswick
sarah.tracy@utoronto.ca
Ph.D. Murphy American 20th Century
Vallieres, Matthieu
matthieu.vallieres@utoronto.ca
Ph.D. Pruessen Twentieth Century Foreign Relations
Vickers, Simon
simon.vickers@mail.utoronto.ca
Ph.D. Mills, S Canadian History, Urban History, History of Social Movements
Wasyluk, Stefanie Leigh
B.A. Hon. (History, Celtic Studies), Univ. of Toronto. M.A. (History), Queen’s Univ.
Ph.D. Wilson

Modern Britain, 1800-Present (Major)
USA, 1776-1877 and  Historiography (Minors)

Wellum, Caleb
B.A. (Hons) McMaster Univ., M.A. McMaster Univ.
Ph.D. Brown American environmental and cultural history in the 20th Century
Wiens, Gavin
B.A. (Honours), Sir Wilfrid Laurier; M.A., Univ. of Calgary
Ph.D. Retallack Europe, 1815-1918; Imperial Germany; War and Society
Wilcox, Michael
B.A. (St.FX), M.A. (UNB)
michael.wilcox@mail.utoronto.ca
Ph.D. McGowan Canadian
Yesaya Keddy, Francoise M.A. Jennings Colonialisms (French and Canadian), National Africa
Yeung, Juni L.
B.A. in East Asian Studies (Hons.)(Toronto), M.A. in Comparative and Public History (CUHK)
jt.yeung@utoronto.ca
Ph.D. Lam Chinese History, 1796-present, Theories of World History